Around the corner

In between naps, sweeping and reading stories, Esther and I have had many walks to town lately. The weather has been beautiful and I am getting nervous for the hot, dry, sunny summer to come.

Last week I was looking for a place to buy a cake box, and after at least 5 failed attempts (see previous post The land of no se hace), I was directed to a bakery around the corner.

I had never been on this street, and on it was the library I have been looking for the past year (not very hard apparently), a kids bookshop and this amazing bakery.

The woman refused me a cake box, but I could not deny myself some sort of treat for my efforts.

Sweet meringue covered in soft, smooth chocolate, sitting atop a salty, crunchy cookie.

Since that day I have been back a number of times, luckily it is a 20 minute walk from my house and after a few missteps I am only allowed one a day and I have to go and get it on that very day.

The woman at the shop does not smile, ever, even when I say something ridiculous. There are always a few older folks standing in line, and Esther and I make small talk with them while we wait. Sometimes the door to the kitchen is left open and I can peak in and watch the bakers at work. That is really my favorite part.

Yes, this is as delicious as it looks.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Around the corner

  1. Steve and Amy Glover says:

    I wouldn’t deny myself either! Oh my.

Leave a Reply

