Oh my mamma

We spend a lot of time listening to music or NPR at our house.  Here are a few favorites.

Just heard this nice song on another blog.  I have been singing it all day.

Oh my Mama
She gave me these feathered breaths
Oh my Mama
She told me use your voice,
My little bird

She said sing sing sing sing sing sing melodies
And she sang sang sang sang sang sang melodies

Oh my Mama
She did give me fancy feet
I’ll be dancing on
And I’ll tap tap tap my toes
Into those creaking floorboards

Oh my Mama
She took my little hand and held on tight
Oh the Mamas
Give the waters of their wells
Oh the Mamas
Give the babies this very dirt we’re walking on
Oh my Mama
She gave me these feathered breaths
And your Mama
She gave you those feathered breaths too

And when the sky drops all those feathers
And when the birds sing in the morning
I’ll be a mama
I’ll have a daughter
I’ll be a mama
I’ll have a daughter

And I’ll give her melodies
I’ll give her melodies
(repeat)

And she’ll be
My little bird
And then she’ll fly
She’ll fly

This is Esther´s favorite song.  She requests it at least 6 times a day or every time she catches me at my computer (as she knows that is where it comes from).  She says ¨Baby,¨ and points to the computer. I think maybe the lyrics give her a boost.

“You Are The Best Thing”

Baby
It’s been a long day, baby
Things ain’t been going my way
And now i need you here
To clear my mind all the time

And baby
The way you move me, it’s crazy
It’s like you see right through me
And make it easier
Believe me, you don’t even have to try

Oh, because
You are the best thing
(you’re the best thing)
You are the best thing
(you’re the best thing, baby)
You are the best thing
(you’re the best thing, oooh)
Ever happened to me

Baby
We’ve come a long way
And baby
You know i hope and i pray
That you believe me
When i say this love will never fade away

Oh, because
You are the best thing
(you’re the best thing)
You are the best thing
(you’re the best thing, baby)
You are the best thing
(you’re the best thing, oooh)
Ever happened to me

Both of us had no love before
(to come on promising like a spring to walk on out the door)?
Our words are strong and our hearts are kind
Let me tell you just exactly what’s on my mind

You are the best thing
(you’re the best thing)
You are the best thing
(you’re the best thing, baby)
You are the best thing
(you’re the best thing, oooh)
Ever happened to me

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh my mamma

  1. Nancy says:

    Esther has great tastes in music. I can picture her dancing to this music and signing along ….

Leave a Reply

